Joanes Foundation

Living as a basic need

The apartment is living space and shelter at the same time. In addition to its function as a residential space, it is a place of security and serves as a basis for one’s own personal development. It therefore forms an essential component of a self-determined life. We believe that a place of residence receives its true value through a heterogeneous environment. Living in an urban center should not be reserved for certain social classes of the population.

The support and promotion of affordable housing is an essential component of the foundation’s work in order to create the conditions for an equal and free self-development throughout all social classes. The principle of cross-financing is intended to create long-term housing and financial security for all. Housing and living space, as property or for rent, must be accessible to everyone.

Living in a sustainable neighborhood

Since the individual property should not be thought of and operated without its social, ecological and economic context, we focus on an efficient, user-oriented and cost-optimizing planning within the district development. Thus, the requirements of the energy transition and the protection of the environment have to be taken into account as well as the demographic change, the digitalization and the changing lifestyles of the urban population.

Planning that takes people’s needs into consideration and at the same time realizes sustainable equipment is already having a positive effect on our future today.

Creating living space together

We want to create neighborhoods characterized by innovative forms of living and flexible utilization concepts. The residential areas consist of affordable rental and condominium apartments and communal areas, which offer the individual more space to interact, create and share.

In order to counteract processes of gentrification, we establish neighbourly structures that enable a mixture of generations and social classes. We want to promote a sense of solidarity and security, which then should combat loneliness, social exclusion and poverty.

 

We are committed to a timeless concept. We take this belief from the concept of the Fuggerei in Augsburg, which has been in operation since the sixteenth century and is still in use today. As the oldest existing social settlement in the world, economically disadvantaged people live at low rents and work for the common good of the residents with small services (e.g. garden maintenance). Our common faith: Public welfare is promoted with community. In the sense of giving and taking, of helping and being helped.

Board of Directors

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Eckart Hertzsch

Prof. Dr. Eckhart Hertzsch

Prof. Dr. Eckhart Hertzsch has more than 20 years of professional experience in the field of energy efficiency and has worked in various fields of architecture, energy consulting, industry, teaching and research in various countries.

After his appointment as professor at the University of Melbourne in 2006, Mr. Hertzsch headed the business unit ‘Morgenstadt’ at the Fraunhofer Institute for Building Physics, co-constructed the Morgenstadt-City Insights project and managed the three institutes of the ‘National Platform Future City’.

Today, he is board member of the Joanes Foundation based in Berlin. In addition, Mr. Hertzsch coordinates the content of the EU program ‘European Innovation Partnership on Smart Cities and Communities’. Since October 2015 he is an honorary professor at the Technical University of Berlin in the field of ‘Technical Infrastructures at the Interface of Buildings and Quarter’.

Board of Foundation

Pahl-Weber-300x350

Prof. Dr. Elke Pahl-Weber

Professor for Urban Development and Renewal of Settlement Units at the Institute for Urban and Regional Planning at the Technical University of Berlin. Active in the development of the ´Smart City` Competence Center, Berlin Start-Up Incubators, integrated urban planning processes and interactive model laboratories in times of climate change.

Dr-Breckner-300x350

Prof. Dr. Ingrid Breckner

Prof. Dr. Ingrid Breckner heads the Department of Urban and Regional Sociology and the Doctoral Committee at HafenCity University Hamburg. She teaches on sociological questions of urban development and scientific research methods and conducts research on social inequality, (sub)urban living, demographic change, mobility and migration, (in)security, energy efficiency and consumer behaviour as well as regional food production and food culture.

Frau-Sprungala-300x350

Hiltrud Sprungala

 

Former Managing Director of BFW Landesverband Berlin/Brandenburg e.V. and Member of the Board of the BBA Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wohnungswirtschaft e.V.

Mrs. Sprungala takes over various advisory activities.

Board of Trustees

Dr. Otto Schily

Dr. Otto Schily

Lawyer and German politician of the SPD, former Federal Minister of the Interior and co-founder of the Green Party.

NikolausZiegert-1550x1800

Nikolaus Ziegert

Managing Director of ZIEGERT – Bank- und Immobilienconsulting GmbH and founder of the Joanes Foundation.

Thomas Matussek

Thomas Matussek

Lawyer and former German Ambassador to Great Britain and India.

Downloads

download progress report 2017
download progress report 2016
download statute

The Foundations´s bodies

“The constituent organs of the foundation are the Executive Board, the Foundation Board and the Board of Trustees.

 

The Executive Board represents the foundation and implements the foundation goals. Besides, the Board manages a network of experts, stakeholders, research institutions and other foundations.

 

The Foundation Board counsels the Executive Board.

 

The Board of Trustees is the supervisory body of the foundation. This board controls the fulfillment of the foundation charter and represents the foundation in public“.

WER WIR SIND

Wohnen als Grundbedürfnis

Die Wohnung ist Lebens- und Schutzraum. Sie ist, neben ihrer Funktion als Behausung, ein Ort der Sicherheit und dient als Grundlage für die eigene Persönlichkeitsentfaltung. Sie bildet somit einen essentiellen Bestandteil einer selbstbestimmten Lebensgestaltung. Wir vertreten die Überzeugung, dass ein Wohnort durch ein heterogenes Umfeld seinen eigentlichen Wert erhält und Wohnen im urbanen Zentrum nicht nur bestimmten Bevölkerungsschichten vorbehalten werden darf.

Die Förderung einer bezahlbaren Wohnraumversorgung ist eine wesentliche Komponente der Stiftungsarbeit, um die Voraussetzungen für eine gleichberechtigte und freie Selbstentfaltung durch alle Bevölkerungsschichten hindurch zu schaffen. Durch das Prinzip der Querfinanzierung soll eine langfristige Wohn- und Finanzsicherheit für alle geschaffen werden. Wohn- und Lebensraum, als Eigentum oder zur Miete, muss für jeden zugänglich sein.

Wohnen im Nachhaltigen Quartier

Da die einzelne Immobilie nicht ohne ihren sozialen, ökologischen und ökonomischen Kontext gedacht und betrieben werden sollte, legen wir unser Augenmerk auf eine effiziente, nutzerorientierte und kostenoptimierende Planung innerhalb der Quartiersentwicklung. Somit ist den Erfordernissen aus der Energiewende und der Schonung der Umwelt ebenso Rechnung zu tragen wie dem Demografischen Wandel, der Digitalisierung und der veränderten Lebenspraxis der Stadtbevölkerung.

Eine Planung, die die Bedürfnisse der Menschen und zugleich eine nachhaltige Ausstattung mitdenkt und verwirklicht, wirkt schon heute für unsere Zukunft positiv mit.

Wohnen Gemeinsam Gestalten

Wir möchten Quartiere entstehen lassen, die von innovativen Wohnformen und flexiblen Nutzungskonzepten gekennzeichnet sind. Die Quartiere bestehen aus bezahlbaren Miet- und Eigentumswohnungen und Gemeinschaftsflächen, die dem Einzelnen mehr Fläche zum Gestalten, Mitnutzen und Zusammensein bieten.

Um Gentrifizierungsprozessen entgegenzuwirken, etablieren wir nachbarschaftliche Strukturen, die eine Durchmischung der Generationen und der sozialen Bevölkerungsschichten ermöglichen. Wir möchten das Gefühl der Verbundenheit und Sicherheit fördern, welche wiederum Einsamkeit, soziale Exklusion und Armut bekämpfen.

 

 

Logoerklärung

 

Wir setzen uns für ein zeitloses Konzept ein. Diese Überzeugung nehmen wir aus dem seit dem sechzehnten Jahrhundert und noch immer aktuell funktionierenden Konzepts der Fuggerei in Augsburg. Als älteste bestehende Sozialsiedlung der Welt leben hier wirtschaftlich benachteiligte Personen zu geringen Mieten, die sich mit kleinen Diensten (Bsp. Gartenpflege) für das Gemeinwohl der Bewohner einsetzen. Unser gemeinsamer Glaubensansatz: Gemeinwohl wird mit Gemeinschaft gefördert. Im Sinne des Gebens und Nehmens, des Helfen und Geholfen werden.

 

Vorstand

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Eckart Hertzsch

Herr Prof. Dr. Eckhart Hertzsch

In seiner über 20-jährigen Berufserfahrung zum Thema Energieeffizienz arbeitete Prof. Dr. Eckhart Hertzsch in unterschiedlichen Bereichen der Architektur, Energieberatung, Industrie, Lehre und Forschung in verschiedenen Ländern.

Nach seiner Berufung zum Professor an der Universität Melbourne in Jahr 2006, leitete Herr Hertzsch das Geschäftsfeld ‘Morgenstadt’ am Fraunhofer-Institut für Bauphysik, baute das Morgenstadt-City Insights Projekt mit auf und führte die drei Institute umfassende Geschäftsstelle der ‘Nationalen Plattform Zukunftsstadt’.

Heute ist er der Vorstand der Joanes Stiftung mit Sitz in Berlin. Darüber hinaus koordiniert Hr. Hertzsch den Inhalt des EU-Programmes ‘European Innovation Partnership on Smart Cities and Communities’. Seit Oktober 2015 ist er Honorarprofessor an der TU Berlin im Bereich ‚Technische Infrastrukturen auf der Schnittstelle von Gebäude und Quartier’.

Stiftungsrat

Pahl-Weber-300x350

Frau Prof. Dr. Elke Pahl-Weber

Professorin für Bestandsentwicklung und Erneuerung von Siedlungseinheiten am Institut für Stadt- und Regionalplanung an der Technischen Universität Berlin. Tätig im Aufbau des ´Smart City` Kompetenzzentrums, Berlin Start-Up Incubators, integrierte Stadtplanungsprozesse und interaktive Modell-Laboratorien in Zeiten des Klimawandels.

Dr-Breckner-300x350

Frau Prof. Dr. Ingrid Breckner

Prof. Dr. Ingrid Breckner leitet das Arbeitsgebiet Stadt- und Regionalsoziologie und den Promotionsausschuss an der HafenCity Universität Hamburg. Sie lehrt zu soziologischen Fragen der Stadtentwicklung und wissenschaftlichen Forschungsmethoden und forscht zu den Themen soziale Ungleichheit, (sub-) urbanes Wohnen, demographischer Wandel, Mobilität und Migration, (Un-) Sicherheit, Energieeffizienz und Verbraucherverhalten sowie regionale Lebensmittelproduktion und Esskultur.

Frau-Sprungala-300x350

Frau Hiltrud Sprungala

Ehemalige Geschäftsführerin des BFW Landesverband Berlin/Brandenburg e.V. und Vorstandsmitglied der BBA Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wohnungswirtschaft e.V.

Frau Sprungala übernimmt verschiedene beratende Tätigkeiten.

Kuratorium

Dr. Otto Schily

Herr Dr. Otto Schily

Rechtsanwalt und deutscher Politiker der SPD, ehemaliger Bundesminister des Innern und Mitgründer der Partei Die Grünen.

NikolausZiegert-1550x1800

Herr Nikolaus Ziegert

Geschäftsführer der ZIEGERT – Bank- und Immobilienconsulting GmbH und Stifter der Joanes Stiftung.

Thomas Matussek

Herr Thomas Matussek

Jurist und ehemaliger deutscher Botschafter in Großbritannien und Indien.

Downloads

Tätigkeitsbericht 2017 herunterladen
Tätigkeitsbericht 2016 herunterladen
Stiftungssatzung herunterladen

Stiftungsorgane

Der Vorstand, der Stiftungsrat und das Kuratorium bilden die Organe der Stiftung

 

Der Vorstand vertritt und repräsentiert die Stiftung. Er verwirklicht die Stiftungszwecke und unterhält hierzu ein Netzwerk von Experten, Stakeholdern, Forschungs- und Stiftungseinrichtungen.

 

Der Stiftungsrat berät den Vorstand bei seiner Arbeit.

 

Das Kuratorium ist das Kontrollgremium der Stiftung. Es wacht über die Einhaltung der Stiftungssatzung und repräsentiert die Stiftung in der Öffentlichkeit.