„Joanes Preis“ 2019:
Space for community

„Joanes Preis“:
New ideas for social urban design

How can an inner city location promote social community building? The Joanes Foundation and the degewo housing association are looking for answers with the “Joanes Preis”, which is being offered for the first time nationwide.

They are looking for creative concepts for the design of the new emerging “Ackerplatz” in Berlin-Wedding. 15.000 EUR prize money are awaiting the participants.

“The social climate, especially in large cities, is determined to no small extent by the living environment. Reviving neglected urban quarters is therefore a task of high importance. The Joanes Foundation therefore wants to honour people who know how to creatively combine social and aesthetic aspects in the design of urban spaces and at the same time understand how to implement them in a sustainable way.”
Dr. Otto Schily, Federak Minister a.D. and member of the board of trustees of Joanes Foundation.

“Social urban spaces can have many forms – and are usually created by creative impulses from the citizens themselves and the desire to actively appropriate spaces. We have therefore chosen to keep participation open and are equally looking forward to the ideas of professional artists and architects, students, hobby urban planners and local initiatives”.
Prof. Dr. Marcus Menzl, Professor for “Soziologie der gebauten Umwelt” at TH Lübeck and Jury Chairman of „Joanes Preis.“

You can find our press release (in German) here:

Download PDF

The task:
Creative concepts for the “Ackerplatz”

From artistic light installations, innovative playgrounds and sports areas to the promotion of a more sustainable community square: the 600 square metre area in Ackerstraße in Berlin’s Brunnenviertel is to become the lively centre of the city quarter as “Ackerplatz”.

From 16th of September to 11th of November 2019, interested artists, (landscape-)architects and other persons as well as initiatives who would like to participate as social “city designers”, are welcome to submit their ideas/creations.

Gallery


How to participate

Participation is very simple: We only expect a graphic representation of the idea in DIN A3 format (e.g. drawings, views, sections or perspective sketches), a short textual description (max. 350 words), an author’s statement and a rough calculation of the production and removal costs.

Please notice that the competition language is German. Therefore, all documents have to be provided in German. The implementation grant contributed by the Joanes Foundation is 40,000 euros gross. You can express your interest to the following e-mail address: wettbewerb@joanes-stiftung.de. You will receive a link to the tender documents as response.

 

After evaluation by our jury of experts and a public exhibition, the winning concept is to be implemented in
March 2020. Initially, a temporary pilot project of three months is planned for implementation, which will
provide the basis for a participative process with the residents of the Brunnenviertel.

 

Our experts for social urban design

Architecture
Andreas Becher
President BDA, BRH Generalplaner GmbH

Landscape architecture
Eva-Maria Boemans
TDB Landscape architecture

Art
Yasha Young
Urban Nation

Housing association degewo
Dr. Wagner
Head of portfolio development

 

Architecture
Prof.
Volker Staab
Staab Architects

Participation
Prof. Dr.
Menzl
TH Lübeck

Quarter management
Sibel Olguner
S.T.E.R.N Gesellschaft der behutsamen
Stadterneuerung mbH

Art / Culture
Reiner Nagel
Chairman of the board
of Bundesstiftung
Baukultur Social

District Office Mitte Berlin
Dr. Ute Müller-Tischler
Head of Art, Culture
and History Department

Our honorary jury brings together experts from the fields of architecture, science, culture and the construction industry.

We redesign living spaces – together.

The “Joanes Preis” is a joint project of the non-profit Joanes Foundation and the degewo housing association.

JOANES PREIS 2019:
RAUM FÜR GEMEINSCHAFT

Der „Joanes Preis“:
Neue Ideen für soziale Stadtraumgestaltung

Wie kann ein innerstädtischer Ort die soziale Gemeinschaftsbildung fördern? Antworten suchen die Joanes Stiftung und die Wohnungsbaugesellschaft degewo mit dem erstmalig ausgeschriebenen deutschlandweiten Realisierungswettbewerb „Joanes Preis“.
Unter dem Motto „Raum für Gemeinschaft“ werden kreative Konzepte zur Gestaltung des neu entstehenden „Ackerplatzes“ in Berlin-Wedding gesucht. Für Teilnehmer*innen warten Preisgelder in Höhe von 15.000 Euro.

“Das gesellschaftliche Klima gerade in Großstädten wird in nicht geringem Maße vom Wohnumfeld bestimmt. Verwahrloste Stadtquartiere neu zu beleben, ist daher eine Aufgabe von hohem Rang. Die Joanes Stiftung will daher Menschen auszeichnen, die soziale und ästhetische Aspekte bei der Gestaltung von städtischen Räumen kreativ zu verbinden wissen und zugleich verstehen, sie in nachhaltiger Weise umzusetzen”
Dr. Otto Schily, Bundesminister a.D. und Kuratoriums-Mitglied der Joanes Stiftung.

“Soziale Stadträume können viele Formen haben – und entstehen meist durch kreative Impulse der Bürger selbst und die Lust, sich Räume aktiv anzueignen. Wir haben die Teilnahme am Joanes Preis daher bewusst offen gehalten und freuen uns gleichermaßen auf die Ideen von professionellen Künstlern und Architekten, von Studenten, Hobby-Stadtplanern und lokalen Initiativen.”
Prof. Dr. Marcus Menzl, Professor für “Soziologie der gebauten Umwelt” an der TH Lübeck und Jury-Vorsitzender des Joanes Preises.

Unsere Pressemitteilung finden Sie hier:

PDF-Datei herunterladen

Die Aufgabe:
Kreative Konzepte für den „Ackerplatz“

Von der künstlerischen Lichtinstallation über innovative Spiel- und Sportflächen bis zum nachhaltigen Gemeinschaftsplatz: Die 600 Quadratmeter große Fläche in der Ackerstraße im Berliner Brunnenviertel soll zukünftig als „Ackerplatz“ zum belebten Zentrum des Stadtquartiers werden.

Vom 16. September bis zum 11. November 2019 können interessierte Künstler*innen, (Landschafts-)Architekt*innen und sonstige Personen sowie Initiativen, die sich als soziale “Stadtgestalter*innen” beteiligen möchten, ihre Ideen/Kreationen einreichen.

Galerie


Die Teilnahme:
In vier Schritten zum „Joanes Preis“

Die Teilnahme am „Joanes Preis“ ist ganz einfach: Wir erwarten nur eine grafische Darstellung der Idee im DIN A3-Format (z.B. Zeichnungen, Ansichten, Schnitte oder perspektivische Skizzen), eine kurze textliche Beschreibung (max. 350 Wörter), eine Verfassererklärung und eine Grobkalkulation der Erstellungs- und Abbaukosten.

Die von der Joanes Stiftung bereitgestellte Umsetzungsförderung beträgt 40.000 Euro brutto. Ihr Interesse bekunden Sie unter folgender E-Mail-Adresse: wettbewerb@joanes-stiftung.de. Sie erhalten von uns einen Link zu den Ausschreibungsunterlagen als Antwort.

 

Nach der Bewertung durch unsere Experten-Jury und einer öffentlichen Ausstellung soll das
Gewinnerkonzept bereits ab März 2020 in die Tat umgesetzt werden. Für die Realisierung ist zunächst ein
temporäres Pilotprojekt von drei Monaten geplant, das den Anstoß für einen partizipativen Prozess mit den
Anwohner*innen im Brunnenviertel bildet.

 

Die Jury:
Unsere Experten für soziale Stadtraumgestaltung

Architektur
Andreas Becher
Präsident BDA BRH Generalplaner GmbH

Landschaftsarchitektur
Eva-Maria Boemans
Tdb Landschaftsarchitektur

Kunst
Yasha Young
Urban Nation

degewo
Dr. Wagner
Bereichsleiter Bestandsentwicklung

 

Architektur
Professor
Volker Staab
Staab Architekten

Partizipation
Prof. Dr.
Marcus Menzl
TU Lübeck

Wohnraum Management
Sibel Olguner
Quartiersmanagement
Brunnenviertel-Ackerstraße

Kunst / Kultur
Reiner Nagel
Vorstandsvorsitzender
Bundesstifung
Baukultur

Unsere ehrenamtlich arbeitende Jury vereint Experten aus den Bereichen Architektur, Wissenschaft, Kultur und Bauwirtschaft.

Die Veranstalter:
Wir gestalten Lebensräume neu – gemeinsam.

Der „Joanes Preis“ ist ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt der gemeinnützigen Joanes Stiftung und der Wohnungsbaugesellschaft degewo.

FAQs zum Joanes Preis